top of page

FAIZA ZAFAR: NATIONAL SQUASH CHAMPION HITTING GOALS IN LIFE


When I was young, I used to hit a ball with a book. At that time, I did not know that Squash is a game. The only thing which I knew about squash was the squash juice.

One day, my father said to me that he was taking me to the court to play squash. When I went there two boys were playing and they were hitting the ball like crazy. I got scared at the moment and I told my father “Papa in ke sath khelna hoga ye to bahut mushkil hai mujh se to nai ho payega”. My father told me not to worry as I would be competing against girls. That’s how I started playing squash and my training began when I was just 10 years old.

My mom was my biggest supporter during the whole journey. She used to pick my sister and me up from school and take us to the court despite being a working woman. She kept motivating me for the training. She used to give me incentives. Like if I would hit ten balls straight, she would give me 10 rupees and stuff like that. She used to sit and watch my training.

Initially, it was very motivating because I was picking up the techniques very quickly but after my first tournament, I got very disheartened because I got zeroes in three games competing against a Canadian girl.

Sometimes defeat proves to be better than victory. This defeat encouraged me to improve my game and eventually that girl came back when I was playing Under 15’s and I defeated her in the same manner in which she had once defeated me.

The greatest challenge for me has been maintaining a balance between studies and sports. For me there are only two things in life; studies and squash. My parents want me to play squash but not at the cost of my education so I always have to work hard for good grades.

I have remained the squash champion in under 15 and 17 categories at national level. I was the youngest one to represent Pakistan in Asian championship in South Korea. In the same championship I won a very crucial match for Pakistan. I also got a chance to represent Pakistan twice in the world university games.

It is generally assumed that Pakistani or Asian female athletes are not competent enough or are not physically strong as compared to the foreign female athletes but I believe that “Un ke pass bhe do hath or paoun hain” so it’s about believing in your players and giving them access to opportunities and resources.

I wish to play top twenty in the world and if I am able to do that, it would be historical because till now, not a single female player from Pakistan has done it. I want to be the world champion of squash. I know it’s a far-fetched thought but if I work hard and am provided with the right opportunities and resources, I think I can be.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page