top of page

Misbah Mumtaz: Making her way in the World of Glamour

From the beautiful landscape of Hunza comes the beautiful fashion model Misbah Mumtaz. She turns heads anywhere she goes as she stands a head above the rest in all her 5 feet 8 inches. It is clear how much interest she evokes in everyone with all her persona and levelheadedness.

Not to forget she is a trendsetter for the girls in her area so to speak and her journey of self discovery and success is justly inspiring. Becoming a part of strong and bold campaigns and owning the ramps at Fashion Shows, Mumtaz has kept on moving upwards in the world of fashion shining like a true star. Starting with ‘’Miss Veet 2014” she has become the face of many magazines like the Weekend, Social diary, TGIF, She, Glam 360 and the like in the last few years.

To count some more of her achievements in such a short span of time on top of our fingertips, she has appeared in Pakistan Fashion week and Bridal couture week. Mumtaz has also showed her acting talent in some TV dramas like Becahri and Junoon.

“I have performed in a music video of Nabeel Shaukat Ali “Ruseya Rawe” but, modeling will always be my first priority” Mumtaz said.

Recalling her childhood she said her love for modeling dates back to when she was very young. When she was a little child she would wear her mother’s clothes and accessories to pretend like she is walking on a ramp.

“Choosing an unconventional career was not easy for me because in my area women either work at homes or pursue traditional professions,” she said.

The path to modeling industry was very uneven for Mumtaz. She was criticized by her family and society for choosing a bold career. But this young and daring woman faced the criticism coming in her way with courage and optimism. She knew that one day she would be recognized for her work.

“I wanted to do something different so convincing my parents was a bit difficult for me. My family was not very supportive initially but later when they saw my work and professionalism they supported me,” Mumtaz said.

Initially Mumtaz’s family was not happy from her decision of participating in Miss Veet. But with consistent hard work, dedication and professionalism she was successful in changing the perception of her family. Now she is a matter of pride for her parents and family.

“I told my parents to let me explore the world and prove myself as a role model for others especially for the people of my hometown. Now I am considered the first female model from Hunza which is an achievement in itself,” she said.

Talking about her modeling experience she said it has not been a piece of cake. She has faced her fair share of insults and disparaging attitudes from senior models. She recalled one incident where a senior model took her dress backstage at the last minute and she didn’t have any. Thinking she said that it was very unethical and disturbing for her.

“There were times when I thought of giving up on my dreams because of the difficulties but my passion kept me moving forward and still keeps me going on,” Mumtaz said.

The young, vivacious and confident Mumtaz has undoubtedly carved a niche for herself in Pakistan’s highly competitive fashion industry and is now considered to be one of the most promising faces of Pakistani fashion industry.

She dreams of building a modeling academy for underprivileged girls who can’t afford studies in the future. Here is wishing her all the very best and hoping she achieves many more such milestones.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page