top of page

Malaik e Noor: Defying odds


Malika e Noor is vice-captain of Pakistan National Women Football Team and captain of Pakistan army team. She plays as a striker for the Pakistan Army football team and as a midfielder for the national team.

Ms Noor scored the 89th-minute winning goal from the penalty spot in Pakistan's first competitive victory, at the 2010 SAFF Women's Championship. The team beat Maldives and she also served an assist for the national team's first ever goal in the same match.

In 2007, Maliak -e-Noor went with her sister to the football trials organized by American Embassy in Islamabad.

“I was there for my sister trials. I did not know how to play football. I kicked football there for the first time.” said Noor.

Now Football has become her passion. She loves it to an extent that she can face any challenge and obstacle which will come her way.

“My family was supportive but there were people in the society who were against my passion.” said Noor

The disparaging attitude of people did not become an obstacle in Noor’s journey.

“I believe you get criticized when you do something which others can’t.” said Noor

Her hard work paid off and she won the youngest top scorer award in 2010.In the same year she was successful in making her position in Pakistan national football team.

“I was the first girl from Gilgit Baltistan who was selected in national team. People who used to criticize me initially then started introducing me proudly.” said Noor

Noor was successful in molding the opinion of people. A girl confronted by the community soon became the speaker of seminars. She was presented with high achievers award by her community because of her achievements. People celebrated her victory.

“When I started playing people criticized me for wearing shorts and pointed fingers on my character.” said Noor

She faced all the criticism with courage and did not give up. Noor introduced women sports in Hunza. Women sports have gained a strong momentum in the recent years in Hunza and this is due to the courage and strong vision of ladies like Noor.

“I wanted to leave a mark for the coming generation. I wanted to be an inspiration for the girls of my area.” said Noor.

Noor seems to be successful in achieving what she dreamed back in 2007 when young girls wearing shorts are seen playing football in the grounds of Karimabad and Shimshal village.

“Football teams have been formed in Hunza and these teams participate in regional and national games and it makes me happy to see.” said Noor

Noor not only made a career for herself but she eased the path for many girls like her who are passionate about making a carrier in sports. Parents encourage their children to take part in sports and many girls are pursuing football as a career now. Some girls from her area have also secured sports based seats in different universities of Pakistan.

“I want girls of my area to be professional sportsperson and I want to leave a legacy for the upcoming generation. I want to guide the emerging players. Pakistan football team needs young players and new talent.” She said

Noor is optimistic about her career and wants to play for European Professional Club. She wants to open a football academy for girls in Hunza and mentor girls who are not lucky enough to get proper training from academies.

She remains adamant as she said, “I want to practice the game in an international club so that I could make it even bigger.”

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page